Five teams docked for lug-nut violations at Texas



Five NASCAR teams — three in the Cup Series and two in the Xfinity Series — were fined for lug-nut infractions after last weekend’s postseason events at Texas Motor Speedway.

RELATED: Playoffs standings | Weekend schedule: Kansas

Each team was found to have violated Section of the NASCAR Rule Book, found with one unsecured lug nut each in a post-race check. The safety violation resulted in a $10,000 fine for each Cup Series crew chief and a $5,000 fine on the Xfinity Series side.

Teams penalized in the Cup Series after Sunday’s Autotrader EchoPark Automotive 500:

No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet for driver Kurt Busch (crew chief Matt McCall)
No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet for driver Tyler Reddick (crew chief Randall Burnett)
No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota for driver Kyle Busch (crew chief Seth Chavka)

Chavka, normally a race engineer for the No. 18, was making only his second appearance as a Cup Series crew chief at Texas. Chavka filled in for full-time crew chief Ben Beshore, who served a one-race suspension for a two lug-nut violation in the previous week’s race at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course.

In the Xfinity Series, the following teams were fined after Saturday’s Andy’s Frozen Custard 335:

No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota for driver Brandon Jones (crew chief Jeff Meendering)
No. 98 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford for driver Riley Herbst (crew chief Richard Boswell)


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here